jump to navigation

The Daily Volcano Quote: the nun and the volcano 21 June 2011

Posted by admin in daily volcano quote.
trackback

I was born in the Bicol region where Mayon volcano is … I identify with it, it looks [like a] woman to me … Always in the morning when I would make my morning prayer, I had a little statue of Mary the Madonna on my table, but when I pray I always turn to the volcano. Also in the moonlight it is so beautiful, you know, when you see its silhouette very sharply, and yet the luminous moonlight gives it such a mysterious character.

Sister Placid, OSB, quoted in Heather L. Claussen, Unconventional Sisterhood: Feminist Catholic Nuns in the Philippines (Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Press, 2001), p. 26.

The Daily Volcano Quote: from Monday to Friday, a new eruption of volcanic verbiage each day.

The Volcanism Blog