jump to navigation

Personal matters (updated) 7 May 2010

Posted by admin in admin, personal.
trackback

My mother has been taken into hospital at short notice, so family matters are taking up a lot of my time right now and the blog will have to take a back seat for a little while. I’ll catch up with things here when I can.

UPDATE, 23 May 2010. A sincere thank you to everyone who has added their good wishes to the comment thread below, and/or has contacted me directly by e-mail to wish me and the family well. I am very touched and very grateful. Mum has been in and out of hospital over the past fortnight, but is back home now; it’s not over yet, she will need more medical attention over the next few days, but the longer-term outlook is promising. As for the blog, I hope that I’ll be able to resume posting from the beginning of June. Thank you all for your patience and understanding, and special thanks to those who have taken the time to pass on kind words and good wishes.

The Volcanism Blog

Comments

1. carolyn rose goyda - 7 May 2010

will keep you and she in our thoughts and prayers

take care and be sure to get some rest yourself

your efforts are appreciated ;-)

2. Bernard Duyck - Belgium - 7 May 2010

Best recovery for your mother , take courage !

3. Chris - 7 May 2010

All the best. And do what you have to do and don’t worry about the blog. There are more important things.

4. Lab Lemming - 7 May 2010

I hope she gets well soon.

5. Brenda - 7 May 2010

I hope all is well with your mother. All the best.

6. Kristen - 7 May 2010

Take care. And ditto on all sentiments above.

7. Luna - 7 May 2010

Healing thoughts are with your mom. Supportive and comforting thoughts are with you.

8. Jackie - 8 May 2010

Will keep you and your mom in my prayers. Don’t forget to take care of yourself too.

9. Boris Behncke - 8 May 2010

All the best for mom and take all the time necessary to be with her but also for yourself … in Italy they say “in bocca al lupo” (in the wolf’s mouth) to say good luck

10. energynotsaved - 8 May 2010

Thank you for a great site. I did well on the paper (and the class) that I cited from your site. (An A and an A, so, since I’m in the South….)

I know how difficult this is—it is made even more so by the holiday.

I’ve already planted my mom and much later a dad. Look, it sucks. That said, love and honor those who are. Pray, celebrate and give. Honor our families (and forgive our families) by loving and caring.

My sister only forgave me (actual and believed errors/sins and whatever) when she learned that my perfect hubby left me for the ho…. Know what, it was worth it. My sister is good. He was a jerk!
Long story short, God loves you. If your parent passes, celebrate! God loves you. If your parent loves you, God loves. Blessings.

11. carolyn rose goyda - 8 May 2010

wow we all hope mom is better and so are you

and i hope you can tell your efforts are very appreciated

i am even curious about a class and paper citing your site

again please keep us posted

many of us have lost our dear parents and it does suck as someone else said so true

thank god for the internet and pen pals

email any time

rosegojda@aol.com
carolyn rose goyda
Missouri, usa ;-)
moving ASAP
and all like minded will have a sanctuary to visit
nd looking for one honest Mo lawyer lol
an oxymoron

12. Maurizio - 8 May 2010

all the best for your mother.

13. admin - 8 May 2010

Thank you so much for your kind words, everybody.

14. bruce stout - 9 May 2010

All the best. That is rotten news on Mothers’ Day.

15. carolyn rose goyda - 9 May 2010

how is mom doing – again – keeping you in out thoughts this special day

to all have a good mom’s day and lets hope for a great week

we can all use good news !! ;-)
rosegojda@aol.com mo usa

16. Iris - 10 May 2010

I hope your mother is feeling better. She obviously has a very caring son.

17. EDantes - 10 May 2010

Best wishes for a speedy recovery for your mum.

Bring a book that’s nice to read aloud. I found out (accidentally) with a long-time ailing friend that it makes long visits much more comfortable all around. Although you may end up hoarse . . .

18. Chris Webb - 10 May 2010

You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. I hope she is feeling much better.

19. Suzanne - 10 May 2010

hope you mother feels better soon!

20. Lisa Gentry - 12 May 2010

Best hopes and prayers for your mom and your family during this time.

21. BlindRobin - 14 May 2010

best wishes mate.

22. Stefan, stromboli.org - 18 May 2010

Wish you and your family all the best. Family is much more important than the Internet.

23. Newton Franklin - 19 May 2010

Best wishes for her! Hope she will be soon at home!

24. Barrie Buck - 22 May 2010

As a new reader, I have found your site THE best of it’s kind. I am sure I speak for all your readers in wishing you and your family strength and peace during this trying time.

25. V Porto - 22 May 2010

Hoping your mother is getting better. Our thoughts are with you and your mother.

26. parclair - 23 May 2010

I’m happy to hear your mother is better. Best wishes to you and your family

27. Passerby - 23 May 2010

Best wishes and strengthening prayers for your Mom’s continued recovery and eventual return to health. Extra dose for you and your family, Ralph, during this stressful time. We’ll be here for you when you can return to the Volcanism Blog.

28. enemyofchaos - 25 May 2010

Sorry to hear this has been going on Ralph, wish her better soon & look after yourself too. Have had a similar thing here lately; it can be really stressful.

29. aldo piombino - 27 May 2010

I’m near you

30. Barb - 29 May 2010

Thank you for the update — here’s another small wish for goodness and hope for you and your family. Glad to hear the long-term outlook is improved!

31. Erik - 7 June 2010

Hope things are on the up-and-up … !

32. Jimmy - 8 June 2010

I hope you and your family are all doing well now, Dr. H.

33. admin - 10 June 2010

Thank you again, everyone who has been in touch or left comments here with good wishes. Things aren’t sorted out yet, more surgery is in prospect next week, but the prognosis is good.

Blogging here will restart this week, in a limited way and as and when time permits. Thanks to Volcanism Blog readers for your patience and sympathetic support during this difficult time.

34. Sergio - 10 June 2010

All the best for your mum.
Take care of her.
I hope soon she find fine.
Regards from Spain
Sergio

35. maw - 11 June 2010

Dr. H. — hope your mum is doing better and you’re back to blogging soon — Particularly given the sudden increase in activity under Mýrdalsjökull today — is this cause for concern? I’ve been checking the Icelandic Meteorological Office’s website everyday for over a month now, and this level of activity, while still small, is somewhat atypical. Hoping it’s just a hiccup, as I put my spouse on a plane to London next week.

36. Brian Barker - 13 June 2010

Hope the surgery goes well and your mother is returned to full health quickly. Your site is the first I visit daily and I look forward to reading your blog again in the near future.

Lok after your mum.

Regards from the Isle of Man
Brian

37. Eileen - 13 June 2010

All the best to you and your mum – hope everything goes well in the coming days. Take care.

38. lisa - 17 June 2010

hoping the new surgery goes well. Take your time coming back to this. Family is so very important.

39. Guillermo - 18 June 2010

Even I don’t know you, my best wishes for you and your family

40. Rubén - 18 June 2010

Hoping your mother is getting better. Best wishes to you and your family.
Regards from Argentina.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry