jump to navigation

Stromboli from the inside, 1933 style 16 February 2010

Posted by admin in history of volcanology.
Tags: ,
trackback

I realized clearly the danger confronting me as I slipped over the edge of the crater and was lowered slowly into space. I knew my return was problematical. My precautions might prove insufficient. My heart and lungs might not stand the strain of the gases and the terrific heat. Suspended in space, I knew not where I was going nor where I would set down my feet. What awaited me at the end of my descent? Solid rock? Boiling lava? A sheer, slippery ledge with fire below? I could not tell.

Don’t you miss the days when science was an adventure and scientists were heroes, or maniacs, or both? When volcanology meant being lowered 800 Feet on a Fireproof Rope Inside a Flaming Volcano?

[From the highly-recommended Modern Mechanix blog.]

The Volcanism Blog

Comments

1. Welsh Chris - 16 February 2010

One wonders what today’s Health and Safety people would make of this… :-)

2. Ron de Haan - 17 February 2010

St. Helen’s from the inside
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/8518786.stm

3. Boris Behncke - 18 February 2010

completely different subject here, but might be interesting – the Reykjanes Ridge off southwest Iceland is moving big time:
http://en.vedur.is/earthquakes-and-volcanism/earthquakes/


Sorry comments are closed for this entry